marine parade

MP3: Root of All Evil - Evil Nine mix

Over the past week BlackPlastic has mostly been loving Evil Nine's free downloadable mix, Root Of All Evil, which supposedly celebrates duo Pat and Tom first meeting 20 years ago to make the cover of a Soviet-era workout record.


Regardless of the reason for the mix the tracklisting speaks for itself:

  1. Units - High Pressure Days
  2. Gary Numan - Films
  3. Payback Interlude
  4. The Splash Band - Halloween II
  5. November Group - Shake It Off
  6. ANNA - Systems Breaking Down (Dub)
  7. Dark Star Interlude
  8. Hypnosis - Oxygene
  9. A. Rodionov - Modern Pentathlon (Suite 5)
  10. Art Of Noise - Moments In Love
  11. Doctors Cat - Feel The Drive (Instrumental)
  12. Tasmanian Fahrenheit Interlude
  13. Mark Lindsay - Shogun Assassin
  14. Units - Digital Stimulation

The result is dark, eighties drenched synth sounds for a gloomy Tuesday (or whatever day you read this).

Head over to Marine Parade's artist page for Evil Nine to download the mix - sorry, for some reason they have no permalinks so you may have to browse a bit if you have found this some time down the line future kids.


Album Review: Cope - Freeland

Freeland, Adam Freeland's "band" project, originally launched off the back of the rather awesome 'We Want Your Soul' back in 2003. The harder, rock influenced sound was a departure for Freeland (the man rather than the 'band') from his nu-skool breaks origins but the ideas just seemed to run out over the length of the album, ending up like a breakbeat version of the abysmal Kosheen.

When 'Under Control' dropped a couple of months ago it got BlackPlastic a bit excited. The vocals clearly wished they were LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy but the overall package had enough attitude to make it work, particularly on Alex Metric's mix. Incorporating 'Under Control' as a starting point and recruiting a number of successful musicians an producers (Tommy Lee, the Pixies' Joey Santiago and Jerry Casale of Devo amongst others) things looked good for Cope...

...And on the whole, it delivers. Whether it is on the dread-soaked, paranoia drenched 'Strange Things' or the melancholic M83-esque downer 'Mancry' Cope is likely to have moments that appeal whatever your taste. The variety of styles and techniques that Freeland has obviously picked up through DJing and remixing really pays dividends here - BlackPlastic has long sung the praises of Freeland's mix of B-Movie's eighties track 'Nowhere Girl'. The distortion and shoe-gazing sounds on that remix and his Global Underground disc it featured on are all over this.

So it's not perfect. It's a little long and there is a little bit of padding plus BlackPlastic can't help but long for the faster, harder remixes. But the best things often aren't perfect: in a similar way to Evil Nine's They Live! from last year, Cope is likely to keep you coming back regardless.

As a faster check out the free mix Adam put together for Discobelle. It encompasses a number of Cope's tracks in a more dance floor focused mix.

Cope is available to order now across a variety of formats from

BP x